View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 1:08 pm

Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Working on a map 

Post Working on a map
Soo, I'm working on a map.

Screenshot

Since I'm new to UDMF format mapping I've been learning a lot of things the last week and it has been great fun. Actually more fun than playing. :D

Download map

I wanted to create a map with a central "arena" where most of the action will take place. Have some special paths where util or less used classes like chem trooper and jumpjet can come in handy. I'm thinking of calling it "Waste Plant" as that was what I had in mind when working on the design. Despite the name I didn't want a lot of pools where you would die, but am thinking some more could be added.

I will have to add items, go through textures and brightness, add more "eyecandy" (think I could keep doing that forever) but before I finalize the map I would like some input on the overall design:

* Does it look good ? Should something be added or withdrawn ? I think the side path should be extended and walkable throughout the map, not across though.
* What about size, is the map too small ?
* Base design ?
* Mechs ? I think I would like them enabled as it's more fun but right now I would have to adjust some heights for them.

Since design ideas came before game play I welcome you to scrutinize this map. I'm thinking with some input on above I could finalize it for release/testing and keep working on it iteratively as things come up.

Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:47 pm

Post Re: Working on a map
I think the layout looks interesting and worth a shot.

About texturing, I'd say overall it looks pretty good but you're using too much black, try contrast it with more green and you should be fine. :) After all, it's a waste facility map, so why not have more waste? Though the rusty metal texture you used at the corners really isn't meant for that kind of usage - the way it's put really kills it.