View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:03 am



Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
[Mechs] Selected weapon identifier 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:34 pm
Posts: 1228
Location: Finland
Post [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
I'm suggesting a little something to keep track of which weapon is selected so I don't need to constantly keep the current weapon in mind. I'd myself just colour the current weapon green in the mech weapon list rather than all yellow. Also maybe have weapons which are out of ammo be akin displayed as red?


Tue May 25, 2010 11:12 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:04 pm
Posts: 87
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
I agree with this.


Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:01 pm
Profile
john madden
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 129
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
I can provide the necessary graphics as well if you wish for an indicator on the HUD.


Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:10 pm
Profile
BUDDHIST. AMEN
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 11:55 am
Posts: 21
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
perhaps a little wheel that is a part of the hud ,it has shows current weapon next weapon, previous wepon etc (if you decide to present the wheel side-on then selected wep is at the top, if you present it head-on then middle).

_________________
God once told me:
Just because you see my ass poking out of the sky doesn't mean i'm going to shit on YOU ̿̿


Fri Jul 16, 2010 9:52 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:03 pm
Posts: 1065
Location: British Columbia
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
Arcaliath wrote:
perhaps a little wheel that is a part of the hud ,it has shows current weapon next weapon, previous wepon etc (if you decide to present the wheel side-on then selected wep is at the top, if you present it head-on then middle).


Like this?

"Shoulder Rocket Launcher < Artillery Nuke > Plasma Cannon"

I'm not a fan of that simply because you can't scroll backwards through the weapons and seeing the previous weapon is kinda useless. Plus, it might be confusing to some people.

Honestly though, the most effective thing I think would be, is to have a redesigned 'Mech HUD "frame" (I can rip it from DS's model pack, that looks good) for normal mechs and find something else from Google for the Juggernaut, and have a sort of icon-based weapon system (I can help with that). But since that would be hard to do, I think this might work (ignore the underscores):

[Active]_____________[Next]
Artillery Nuke_________Shoulder Missiles

EDIT: Oh, and if it's currently loading and autoswapping to a different weapon, then somehow make it like this: (Assume the Nuke from the last example has just been fired and is now autoloading the Shoulder Missiles while the Nuke reloads)

[Active]_____________[Next]
Shoulder Missiles______Artillery Nuke (Loading...)

Or a third option might just have an extra section so you know what weapons are loading and which aren't.

[Active]_____________[Next]_____________[Reloading]
Shoulder Massdriver___Plasma Cannon______Artillery Nuke, PPC

Jesus that was a long post.


Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:10 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:34 pm
Posts: 1228
Location: Finland
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
I was more thinking of something like this:

Code:
[x] Flamer 400
    LRMs 140
    80mm 12


Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:29 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:03 pm
Posts: 1065
Location: British Columbia
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
....That works too >_>


Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:42 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:34 pm
Posts: 1228
Location: Finland
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
Added. Selected weapon now appears as green while rest of the weapons remain yellow.


Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:34 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:21 am
Posts: 541
Location: South Australia
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
Thanks.
That would help out heaps.


Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:50 pm
Profile WWW
:/

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:13 pm
Posts: 758
Location: Location: Location:
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
Thanks. Now I don't have to fire nukes at infantry anymore

_________________
<3 YOU TOO


Thu Sep 02, 2010 3:19 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:11 pm
Posts: 301
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
Does it also show the next weapon then?

Because if I fire my nuke, then I dont really know, what the Juggernaut does fire as next, while reloading the nuke and so on.


Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:53 am
Profile ICQ WWW

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:34 pm
Posts: 1228
Location: Finland
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
Not yet.. but I guess I could implement it too.


Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:13 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:11 pm
Posts: 301
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
That would be great.

Because if I dont know, what it shoot as next (and if I dont use Nuke or Gauss I have to shoot more than 1 time) I can only assume what comes next and so my aim style I have to use (hitscan, prediction and so on I mean)

Also is it somehow possible to make it, that I can switch faster to the right weapon I want to have?

For example when I have a juggernaut its a long way from Nuke to Heavy Gauss.

Offtopic:

Also I have the feeling, that the heavy gauss isnt shooting exactly in the center :/

I had it several times, that I shot clearly the enemy. My crosshair (cross 1) was exactly in the middle of the enemy, but the gauss was further left side and didnt hit.

With normal infantry Gauss Rifle, Sniper Rifle, or Time Gun all is normal. Its just the heavy gauss of the jug.
I've tested to hold the crosshair slightly further next to the enemy (right side) and then I got the hit lol.


Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:13 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Some L00nt!ck
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 7:27 pm
Posts: 106
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
The heavy gauss does fire from a non perfect offset which makes it Miss small targets in medium-long ranges. I've known that for a long time and I got used to it, I now shoot it a little to the right and then it hits.

_________________
Nati46


Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:15 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:34 pm
Posts: 1228
Location: Finland
Post Re: [Mechs] Selected weapon identifier
Dang. Seems like the juggernaut chooses a *random weapon* if it's reloading. o.o

I'll just leave things simple: just have the selected weapon green. I'll look this more after the next release. Else we'll have too much stuff in.


Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:56 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.